hmm

a bit late ..but father's day and anu's blog inspired this thought..

it would make sense if you read hers first actually ๐Ÿ˜€

hmm..I could cook when I was in India, but not very well, US of A in a small town with no Indian grocery /food around has made me an expert. My mom says the same thing the day I come back, she will never cook.With that another related memory comes to mind, that of mom never cooking when dad wasn't in town, so it was always khichri for dinner when papa wasn't there and always yummy outside food when mom wasn't there, who do you think I wished left town more often?Taking from anu's post, of women expecting their daughters to cook, in retrospect was true of quite a few children around me, the elder sister would clean,fill water and the brother would chill and play basketball with friends. Funnily enough one's mom expected her to cook while she did not cook herself !

such is life…

I am only child of a father who's only culinary achievement is tea..which he makes every morning for himself and the watchman. And when I am around expects me to make tea every half hour of the day, but he would expect the same of his son, he also expects me to take care of my mom, who doesn't need taking care of, so when we walk out my mom is surrounded by two bodyguards my dad and me. I am also expected to do all the "outside work", which I think is a hindi expression translated to english"bahar ke kaam", so may not make any sense.Such as bills( arggghh the bsnl bill)

On the whole,you know as the son and daughter of the house, there's a lot on my plate.

I have been possessive of my parents to the extent of being jealous of my dog, though my dog was pretty pampered too.., I have been lonely without them, we are a close knit family, but on the whole I have found I am much more used to taking care of myself and capable of changing the bulb and doing the dishes and cooking..umm no sewing please! as well as taking care of my car, than people who have had elder/younger brothers or sisters. But again, that could be just my narcissism

13 Comments

  1. well, as the mum i can tll u one thing …. had u been my son u would surely have been forced to learn to cook. and as a baby u palyed equally with cars as dolls… so there.

  2. and another trhing u never considered the dog as dog. she was practically ur sis who u sat with under the bed and bit the ear of..

  3. ๐Ÿ™‚

    you bit ur dog’s ear!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. and then the dog never ever bit her

  5. @everyone: yes that is my extra net savvy mom and a lesson to all the bloggers out there..never tell your mom you blog!
    @yeshu: i know..thanks for the clarification, ma!
    @chandni: i think she answered your question!

  6. nice dog ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. @ everyone: looking at chandni’s comment..do you wonder when I say nobody loves me?

  8. dramebaaz

  9. he bhagwan ..pata nahi pechle janam mein kya paap kare the jo aise comments mile ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. beta, ye aapke is janam ke paap hain ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. hahhahaha as much for the post as for the comments!! There were advantages when my mom went out of town too. All friends bringing in a variety of food was one. My dad did not know that my mom made me pack my own lunch, he made sandwishes and packed them for me!

  12. hello directions,

    returning your visit. i too, did not learn to cook until i was in the us. managed to burn my daal so badly that i had to throw away the entire utensil!

    responded to your comment on my blog so won’t repeat, but good luck on your upcoming half.

    best,
    gg

  13. WOw! More than actual post, I enjoyed reading comments more. ๐Ÿ™‚ The reason is abvious. ๐Ÿ™‚


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

